Challenge nr 3 – Protection

haklin

Mars månads utmaning i Historical Sew Monthly var skydd, ett plagg som skyddar mot ex väder och vind, mot smuts eller någonting annat.
Min ursprungliga plan var en finare struthätta till maken, med knappar och kantväv. Tyvärr sprang tiden ifrån mig och det slutade med att jag tolkade om utmaningen till detta; ett enkelt medeltida haklin som skyddar min ärbarhet som gift kvinna.

March challenge in Historical Sew Monthly was protection, a garment that protects from weather, dirt or something else.
My original plan was a medieval hood for my husband. A fancyer one with buttons and edge weave. Alas time ran away from me and I ended up interpretation the challenge to this; a simple whimple that protects my modesty as a married women during the middle ages.

Det vanliga för gifta kvinnor under medeltiden var att bära både huvudlin och haklin. Bilderna ovan visar kvinnor från olika samhällsklasser från bönder till jungfru Maria och Moses moder. Gemensamt är att de alla bär haklin.

The most common thing for married women during the middleages was to wear a head cloth and a wimple. The images above shows women from different classes, from peasants to the Virgin Mary and the mother of Moses, and they all wear wimples.

Jag använde linne från min stash, klippte till en rektangel ca 75 x 50 och fållade en smal fåll med lintråd. Enkelt och snabbt men samtidigt någonting jag behövde och som jag skjutit upp att göra.

I used linnen from my stash, cut out a rektangel ca 75×50 cm and made a small hem with linnen thread. Easy, quick but still something that I needed and that I had procrastinated for far to long.

The challenge: #3 Protection

Fabric: 75 x 50 cm linnen

Pattern: My own

Year: 14th century

Notion: linnen thread

How historical accurate is it? A part from the fabric and the thread being machine made, as good as it gets.

Hours to complete: ½ a day.

First worn: Not counting the time for photos, not yet.

Total cost: The fabric was in my stash so nothing this time.

 

Kommentera

