Challengee 9 – Colour challenge Brown

skoldhamn

Det här är början på en ny epok för mig, det första plagget jag visar av mina planer på Svenskt 900-tal. Nu är just det här plagget ett avsteg från planen. Skjoldehamnshättan är funnen i Norge, daterad till mycket sen vikingatid alternativt tidig medeltid och frågan är om det egentligen inte är ett samiskt plagg. Men det är det närmaste jag kommer ett värmande plagg för huvud och nacke som ändå är någorlunda möjligt vikingatid.

This is the start of something new for me, the first garment I’m showing of my plans on Swedish 10th century. This particularly garment is alas a bit of a step away from the plan. The Skjoldehamns hood is from Norway, dated to very late vikingage or early medieval age and it might be a Sapmi garment. But it is the closest I get to a warming garment for the head and neck that still might be plausible. 

skoldhamn bak

Jag har använt mig av samma mått som orginalplagget har. Men istället för ett valkat tyg valde jag ett fiskbensmönstrat ylle som fanns i stashen, och eftersom det var aningen glesvävt behövde jag fodra hela hättan med någonting, återigen ett fiskbensmönstrat ylle från stashen (tunnare men tätare och gosigt, samma som jag använde till foder i dottern hätta). Fiskbensmönstrat är lite kontroversiellt när det kommer till vikingatid, det finns exempel men de är försvinnande få jämfört med diamantkyperten och den vanliga kyperten. I återskapade sammanhang finns det däremot fiskbenskypert i överflöd. Hade jag köpt nytt tyg hade jag valt ett valkat kyperttyg, som det originalet är sytt i och då hade det inte heller funnits behov av att fodra plagget, men nu valde jag att använda mig av tyg jag redan hade.

Hättan är handsydd med ylletråd, ansiktshålet är fållat med hjälp av en fyllnadstråd (både trådval, stygnval och fyllnadstråd är tagna med hänsyn till hur originalet är sytt). Längst bak är två flätade snoddar fastsydda, för att kunna fästa hättan ordentligt kring huvudet. De är treflätade medan originalets flätor är rundflätade.

I have used the same measurements as the original hood has. But instead of a fulled twill as the original is made of a choose a herringbone twill that was already in my stash. Since the fabric was a little bit loose in the weave I needed to line it with something and the choice fell on another herringbone twill from the stash (thinner but thicker in the weave and soft, the same fabric that I used to line my daughters hood). Herringbone twill is a bit controversial when it comes to the viking age, there are examples but they are few when you look at all the diamond twill and  regular twill. In the re-enacted world on the other hand herringbone twill can be found everywhere you look. Had I bought new fabric for the project I would have chosen a fulled twill, like the original is made of, then I wouldn’t have the need for lining but now I choose to work with the fabric I already had.

The hood is hand sewn with wool thread, the facehole is hemmed with a filler thread (the thread, stitches and filler thread are chosen according to how the original is made). At the back there are two braids, made from three strands (the original braids are round with four strands).

Literature:
Dan Halvard Lövlid, Nye tankar om Skjoldehmansfunnet, Masteroppgave i arkeologi instititt for AHKR Universitet i Bergen, 2009
Inga Hägg, Kvinnodräkten i Birka, Aun 2 Uppsala, 1974

The challenge: #9 Colour challenge Brown

Fabric: approximately 60 cm herringbone twill for the outer part and the same amount of herringbone twill for the lining.

Pattern: My own based on the sketch and measurments in Nye tankar om Skjoldehamnsfunnet

Year: 10th century

Notion: Wool thread and wool yarn.

How historical accurate is it? 95% I’ve used the right seams, pattern and notions but the fabric is a bit off.

Hours to complete: As usual I haven’t counted but this was a quick thing to make.

First worn: Not counting the time for photos, not yet.

Total cost: For the fabric (outer and lining) approximately $29,34, £18,83, EUR 25,68 SEK 240.

Kommentera

