Challenge 8 – Heirlooms and Heritage

Maj-Britt 1941

Augusti månads utmaning i Historical sew monthly innebar att skapa någonting en släkting haft (eller kunde ha haft) på sig alternativt göra någonting som som skulle kunna bli en släktklenod. Jag valde det tidigare. Det här är ett fotografi föreställande min mormor, taget 1941. Jag tycker verkligen om den enkla vita blus hon bär och beslutade mig därför att det skulle bli mitt bidrag (och som synes är jag en aning sen med min sömnad).

August month challenge in Historical sew monthly was to make something that an ancestress would have worn or to make something that would become a new heirloom. I choose the first part. This is my grandmother on my mothers side, in 1941. I really like the simple blouse she is wearing so this is to become my entry this month (and as you can see I’m running a bit late with that).

IMG_1355

Jag valde att kombinera två mönster från 40-talet, jag utgick från ett simplicity mönster (1222 A) från 1945 eftersom det hade samma typ av axelsöm med rynkor som mormors blus hade. Eftersom kragen inte alls stämde in på de mönstret tog jag kragen från ett Vogue mönster (1969). På det stora hela en enkel sömnad av ett vardagsplagg som jag är nöjd med

I choose to combine two patterns from the 1940s, I started with a simplicity patterns (1222A) dated to 1945 since it had the same type of shoulder seam that grandmas blouse had. But since the collar didn’t match at all I took the collar from a Vogue pattern (1969). On the whole a simple everyday garment that I am pleased with.

Simplicity1222a

The challenge: #8 Heirlooms and Heritage

Fabric: aproximatly 1,3 m crepe georgette in Viscose.

Pattern: Simplicity 1222A and Vogue 1969

Year: 1941-1945

Notion: Cotton thread, four snap buttons, five mother of pearl buttons and silk thread for the buttonholes (all heirlooms from the stash)

How historical accurate is it? 95% I’ve used the right seams, pattern and notions but I am not all that sure on the fabric.

Hours to complete: As usual I haven’t counted

First worn: Not counting the time for photos, not yet.

Total cost: For the fabric $15,48, £10,08, EUR 13,83 SEK 130.

Kommentera

